

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Department Details

Department name: SUSTAINABLE MADISON COMMITTEE

Type: Committee/Dept/Board/Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location: Meetings held at various library locations.

Primary contact: Gregg May

Description: Madison General Ordinance Sec. 33.31 - The Sustainable Madison Committee takes a

leadership role in the promotion of sustainability and environmental protection for the City of Madison, the Madison community, and the region. The committee consists of fifteen (15) members plus three alternates: at least one (1) Common Council member, one (1) Board of Public Works member (who may also be a Council member), and thirteen (13) various experts or community representatives with an interest in sustainability (no more than two (2) of whom may also be Council members). Members shall, collectively, represent the following areas of expertise: (1) Air, (2) water, (3) energy, (4) transportation and land use, (5) food, (6) the built environment, (7) finance, economics and workforce, (8) culture (health, education, arts), and (9) environmental protection. The Mayor shall strive to appoint members drawn from the following portions of the community: Neighborhood groups, sustainability activists, business people, educational institutions and the development community. Members and alternates are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Common Council. Members and alternates shall be appointed for a term of two years, with

Common Council. Members and alternates shall be appointed for a term of two years, with terms expiring June 30 with the exception of aldermanic members and the Board of Public Works member. The term of aldermanic members shall expire with the expiration of their terms as alders and the term of the Board of Public Works member shall expire with their term on Board of Public Works. Formerly the Sustainable Design and Energy Committee.

Ordinance amended per ORD-12-00073, file id 25387 6/12/2012.

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date
VACANCY Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Resident Member Confirms	1/12/2024	
VACANCY Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Resident Member Confirms	1/2/2024	
MGR Govindarajan Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Common Council Member Confirms	4/18/2023	4/15/2025
Nikki Conklin Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Board of Public Works Confirms	4/18/2023	4/15/2025
Nasra Wehelie Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Common Council or Resident Confirms	5/16/2023	4/15/2025
John P. Guequierre Appointed By: Mayor/Council	Common Council or Resident Confirms	11/21/2023	4/15/2025
Heather M. Driscoll	Resident Member	5/18/2021	6/30/2025

Appointed By: Mayo	or/Council Confirms			
Lance E. Green Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member	9/4/2012	6/30/2024	
Susan B. Millar Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or/Council Confirms	5/2/2023	6/30/2025	
Samantha M. Worder Appointed By: Mayo		5/2/2023	6/30/2024	
Erinn Monroe-Nye Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or/Council Confirms	11/21/2023	6/30/2025	
Kai L. Brito Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or & County Executive/Council Confirms	2/1/2022	6/30/2025	
Riley P. Willman Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or/Council Confirms	11/21/2023	6/30/2025	
E. Cristina Carvajal Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or/Council Confirms	2/1/2022	6/30/2025	
Samuel J. Dunaiski Appointed By: Mayo	Resident Member or/Council Confirms	3/3/2020	6/30/2024	
Xanthe Z. Saalmann Appointed By: Mayo	First Alternate or/Council Confirms	11/21/2023	6/30/2024	
Kimberly Cho Appointed By: Mayo	Second Alternate or/Council Confirms	11/21/2023	6/30/2024	
Robert W. Beets Appointed By: Mayo	Third Alternate or/Council Confirms	11/21/2023	6/30/2024	